Childrens Poetry About Dogs

Today I wanted to share some funny children’s poetry about dogs. I love to see the bond between a child and a much loved pet. A dog (or any pet) teaches the child some invaluable life lessons like responsibility, kindness and the importance of friendship.

These make great bedtime stories and will end the day on a high note as the children settle down for a great nights sleep.

The first three poems are written by myself, I hope you like them.

Man’s Best Friend

(Kate Hanford)

Dogs come in different forms

of colour, fur, and breed

Some are big and bouncy,

Others small indeed

Some are trained to guide us

If our eyesight lets us down

They’ll be there to keep us safe

when crossing roads in town

Some have got a job to do

they must earn their keep

Helping farmers in the fields,

herding cows and sheep

Then there are companions

Who sit upon the knee

Filling up the emptiness

Of the sick and elderly

There are ones who protect us

And keep us all from harm

By telling us when dangers near

and raising the alarm

 Some will soothe your troubles

Some will heal the pain

Every dog has a job to do

From Chihuahua to Great Dane

Best in Show

(Kate Hanford)

There is a dog who’s long and low

He likes to dig in soil or snow

He doesn’t know that he is small

He’s good at training and recall

 When he isn’t in the mood

He can be stubborn and subdued

Short of leg and deep of chest

And just in case you haven’t guessed

He’s sausage-shaped, now you know

The dachshund is the best in show!

A New Puppy

(Kate Hanford)

Today is the day, we’ve waited for

A brand-new puppy to love and adore

He has a new collar and a comfortable bed

So when he gets tired he can rest his sweet head

The house is ready, the gardens secure

There’s treats in the cupboard, a lead by the door

We’ll keep him healthy, safe and well

So, full of pride, our hearts will swell

And as the months turn into years

He’ll make us laugh and dry our tears.

My Doggy Ate My Essay

BY DARREN SARDELLI

My doggy ate my essay.

He picked up all my mail.

He cleaned my dirty closet

and dusted with his tail.

He straightened out my posters

and swept my wooden floor.

My parents almost fainted

when he fixed my bedroom door.

I did not try to stop him.

He made my windows shine.

My room looked like a palace,

and my dresser smelled like pine.

He fluffed up every pillow.

He folded all my clothes.

He even cleaned my fish tank

with a toothbrush and a hose.

I thought it was amazing

to see him use a broom.

I’m glad he ate my essay

on “How to Clean My Room.”

Mother Doesn’t Want a Dog

Judith Viorst

Mother doesn’t want a dog.
Mother says they shed,
And always let the strangers in
And bark at friends instead,
And do disgraceful things on rugs,
And track mud on the floor,
And flop upon your bed at night
And snore their doggy snore.

Mother doesn’t want a dog.
She’s making a mistake.
Because, more than a dog, I think
She will not want this snake.

My Neighbour’s Dog is Purple

By Jack Prelutsky

My neighbour’s dog is purple.

It’s eyes are large and green.

It’s tail is almost endless,

The longest I have seen.

My neighbours dog is quiet.

It does not bark one bit.

But when my neighbours dog is near,

I feel afraid of it!

My neighborus dog looks nasty.

It has a wicked smile.

Before my neighbour painted it,

It was a crocodile!

Additional Reading

Best Childen’s Books About Dogs

Leave a Reply

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑